Vijay Rupani takes oath as Gujarat CM: Full list of ministers

Marie Harrington
December 27, 2017

Those nominated as Cabinet ministers on Tuesday include Bhupendrasinh Chudasama, RC Faldu, Kaushik Patel, Saurabh Patel (Dalal), Ganpat Vasava, Jayesh Radadiya, Dilip Viraji Thakor and Ishwarbhai R. Parmar.

Gujarat Governor Shri OP Kohli welcomed PM Narendra Modi to the airport Of Gujarat.

Prominent dignitaries who attended the oath-taking ceremony included BJP veteran LK Advani, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath and Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis.

More news: Kulbhushan Jadhav's mother, wife meet him at Foreign Office amid tight security

Sworn in for the second time as the chief minister of the state, Rupani has brought back the old guard to meet the administrative and legislative experience needed to tackle the strengthened Opposition with 81 members in 182-seat Gujarat Assembly; get the caste and regional balance right and induct more youths. "BJP president Amit Shah and the CM and the deputy CM will decide the names of the Cabinet", a senior party leader was quoted as saying by The Hindu.

Gandhinagar: Vijay Rupani, 61, took oath as the Gujarat Chief Minister at a grand ceremony here in presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah. Besides them, the new government of Gujarat will have eight Cabinet ministers and 10 ministers of State. According to the reports, Vijay Rupani will have less than 20 ministers in his cabinet. The BJP retained power in Gujarat for the sixth consecutive term by winning the recently-held Assembly polls with a lower margin of victory than last time. Six seats went to others, including three Independents. After the ceremony, Rupani will host a lunch for Modi and other high-profile guests at the Mahatma Mandir.

Other reports by TheSundaySentinel

Discuss This Article