Jairam Thakur Thanks PM, Amit Shah On Being Anointed CM

Marie Harrington
December 26, 2017

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday elected Jairam Thakur as the leader of the legislature party leader thereby making it clear that he will be the next Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh.

However his new government would not allow to further burden the state economy. It was former CM Prem Kumar Dhumal, who proposed his name and Union Health Minister J P Nadda who supported his candidacy. That would makes Thakur the first chief minister from the politically sensitive belt of Mandi, where the BJP won 9 out of ten seats.

A lack of consensus among the newly elected MLAs had resulted in the two central observers-Union ministers Nirmala Sitharaman and Narendra Singh Tomar-returning to Delhi from Shimla yesterday to hold fresh consultation with the central leadership.

A big factor that went in favour of Thakur was that he hails from the influential Rajput community, which is also represented by the BJP's original CM candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal, who lost the polls from Sujanpur.

More news: Tunisia's parties condemn UAE's "scandalous" travel ban on Tunisian women

The ceremony would be brief and some ministers would also take oath, but their names are yet to finalised, he said.

Stating that under him the party would leave "no stone unturned" to meet the aspirations of the people, he expressed happiness that the state was now "Congress-mukt". Sources say Dhumal didn't object to his name, adding that Thakur is also said to share a good rapport with the other tall leader in the Himachal BJP, Nadda.

Mr. Thakur, who will be formally sworn in on Wednesday, distributed fruits to patients in Deen Dayal Upadhyay Hospital to mark the birthday of the former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee. He holds an MA from Panjab University in Chandigarh.

The decision was taken at a meeting of BJP MLAs. BJP won 44 seats out of 68 constituencies. Apart from that, he has served as Vice President of Himachal Pradesh in 2003- 2005 and later he was President of the state in 2006 to 2009.

Other reports by TheSundaySentinel

Discuss This Article