Presidential Election 2017: Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Casts His Vote

Marie Harrington
July 17, 2017

While Bhujbal has got the court's permission to cast his vote in the presidential election, Kadam, however, has not been granted permission to exercise his franchise. A total of 32 polling stations - one in Parliament House and one each in state legislative Assemblies - have been set up.

All the 175 MLAs in the AP Assembly, including those of the lone Opposition YSRC, had earlier pledged their support to NDA's presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind.

As voting picked up, many MPs, including women members, were seen queuing up in Parliament House outside the polling booth in Room No 62 for the voting, that closes at 5 p.m.

The joint Presidential Candidate of the opposition parties for 2017 presidential election, Meira served as a Cabinet Minister in the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment of Manmohan Singh's Congress led Government (2004-2009). Former Bihar governor Ram Nath Kovind and former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar are the 2 candidates for the first citizen of the country. Before five days President Pranab Mukherjee's term will expire. As per rules governing presidential elections, lawmakers can ask the Commission to make an exception to allow them to vote from some other place.

"Kovindji will win with a comfortable and respectable margin", Information and Broadcasting Minister Venkaiah Naidu said before voting.

More news: Federal appeals court overturns conviction of ex-NY assembly speaker

The election to choose Indias 14th President saw nearly 100 per cent voting on Monday with Lok Sabha Secretary and Returning Officer Anoop Mishra terming it "probably the highest turnout ever".

Apart from the state MLAs, an MLA from Kerala also voted in Chennai. "Today the monsoon session begins". The total strength of Electoral college is 10,98,903 votes.

Based on the number of votes, these crorepati MPs and MLAs are entitled to cast a total of 75 per cent, or 8,18,703 out of 10,91,472 votes analysed are of members who are crorepatis, a report by think-tank Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) said on Friday.

The Tripura Assembly has 60 MLAs of which 51 are from the ruling Left Front, six from Trinamool Congress and three from Congress.

Other reports by TheSundaySentinel

Discuss This Article