Who should be the NBA's MVP? Making a case for each candidate

Sheri Evans
June 27, 2017

Oklahoma Citys Russell Westbrook, Houstons James Harden and San Antonios Kawhi Leonard are the finalists for MVP of the 2016-17 season.

After a couple of bad stops with the New York Knicks and Los Angeles Lakers, Coach D'Antoni made the most out of the talent he had on his Rockets team last season.

On the red carpet of the NBA's Award show, the league's pre-eminent sartorialist was handed the inaugural "Best Style Award" for the 2016/17 season.

The league will announce the victor of the MVP and the other individual honors during the first NBA Awards show in NY.

The finalists for Rookie of the Year are the Milwaukee Bucks' guard Malcolm Brogden who was drafted 36th overall last year and the Philadelphia 76ers' center Joel Embiid and forward Dario Saric.

As aptly described by ESPN, the lengthy gap between the end of the regular season (April second week) and the awards ceremony has erased some of the lustre from the highest accolades in the National Basketball Association.

More news: Supreme Court sides with same-sex couples in Arkansas suit

With today's technology, it's a little easier to watch shows on your TV, computer or tablet, but the kicker is to find an actual LEGIT stream. Westbrook will join Houston's James Harden and San Antonio's Kawhi Leonard as finalists for the league's MVP award.

Eric Gordon was the frontrunner to win the Sixth Man of the Year, but he tailed off once fellow nominee Lou Williams became his teammate after the trade deadline. The other candidate for the award is Andre Iguodala, the former Finals MVP for the Warriors.

Defensive Player of the Year: Draymond Green.

Despite the fact that he only played in 31 games, Embiid was clearly the best rookie in a year where there weren't any other first-year players in the conversation to make the All-Star Game. The 2017 Awards are finally here and I couldn't be more excited. Gobert was the defensive anchor for the Jazz, and Green was the heart of the defense for the Warriors, capable of defending positions one thru five. Harden and the Rockets' record for the season was 55-27, coming in third in the Western Conference. With Russell Westbrook and James Harden battling for that top prize, which star will win? Two months have passed since the end of the regular.

Other awards include Executive of the Year, Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year, Sportsmanship Award, and the NBA Cares Community Assist Award. The All-NBA Team was announced during the 2017 NBA Playoffs.

Other reports by TheSundaySentinel

Discuss This Article